Mirror Image – Michael Scott and Melanie Ruth Rose

Full disclosure: this book was an early release copy, given by Macmillan-Tor/Forge. The book’s on sale date is August 23rd 2016.

It has taken me weeks to finish this book. Why, you ask? Well, it is not only filled with spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, typos and every other error you can think of. It is also not a very good story.

Why did I finish it? Well, I happen to be a very big fan of Michael Scott. I loved the “Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel” series – of course it wasn’t horror. But I also quite enjoyed “The Thirteen Hallows” – which was also a horror novel. This book however, I did not enjoy.

This is not to say it had no redeeming qualities. John Dee, an important character in the Nicholas Flamel books, reappears in Mirror Image. Unfortunately he was mostly a convenient fool in this book. Very different from his role in Secrets of the Immortal… I would have truly enjoyed a more thorough exploration of John Dee’s life – fictional or not. He is an interesting character, with so much more potential than Jonathan Frazer (the character mentioned in the blurb).

Mirror Image has no real protagonist. Everybody is unlikeable, or they become unlikeable at some point during the story – except for those characters I just don’t care about. It is not that I think characters should be either good or bad, nuances are great. But nuances that are all various shades of evil/self-absorbed/stupid/naïve just doesn’t leave space for me to root for anyone. Actually, by the final pages, I started to like the antagonist, but I am fairly certain that was not meant to happen.

What I disliked most about the book was that it reveled in the rape, murder and occasionally consensual sex. It was like reading Fifty Shades of Blood Red. I am not usually prudish, but this book was far beyond what I would normally enjoy. If I knew my parents were reading this book, I would embarrassed to make eye contact until we had all forgotten (or repressed) the memory of Mirror Image. I caught myself twisting away from people next to me on the bus – I was sure they’d think I was a freak, if they read what I was reading.

Now – who would like this tangled mess, with storylines and random information about irrelevant characters interspersed between graphic sexual violence? I have absolutely no idea. But rest assured – I did not.

Leave a Reply

