About this blog

Since I was a child (and I started reading when I was around 6) I’ve preferred horror, fantasy and (some) sci-fi, above everything else. I’ve read/watched/gamed a lot of other stuff, too, and it’s not that I can’t appreciate diversity, but whenever I get the choice, I stick to these 3 genres.

I have an MA (History of Religions), and while I was studying, I always felt kind of guilty when I read anything other than academic stuff, so I had a few years (or, more like 8) with very little “read for fun” action going on. Although I did watch an insane amount of horror movies and spend quite some time in The World of Warcraft. And Neverwinter Nights. And Everquest 2 …

In december, 2011, when I was 8 months pregnant with my first kid, my parents gave me a Kindle.  When I was awake in the middle of the night (getting kicked in the ribs repeatedly makes it kind of hard to sleep) I passed many hours reading things like The Ritual, Knock Knock, Hell House and Suffer the Children. When the baby came, I began to read stuff like The Baby Whisperer Solves All Your Problems, and when the Baby Whisperer truly did solve (some of) my problems, I began to read A Game of Thrones. And I was instantly reminded of why fantasy is so awesome.

A little more than a year ago, I gave birth to my daughter, and because I already knew a lot of stuff from the last time I had a baby, I skipped the manuals and went straight for the entertainment. Although my daughter is a much more sound sleeper than my boy was, taking care of an infant can be … challenging. So when I finally had some spare time – and with two kids, that doesn’t happen too often – I wanted to frolic about in Fairy Land, like I didn’t have a care in the world!

rainbowride

I’ve always been a sucker for romance, and then one day, I discovered the fabulous combination of fantasy and romance. I started reading Throne of Glass and devoured the three books in the series which had been published at that time. And experienced the  insufferable condition of “book hangover” when I realized that I would have to wait more than 6 months for Queen of Shadows to be released … Okay, to be honest, I did suffer from this condition after finishing A Dance With Dragons, but it’s somehow marginally easier to endure when you don’t know when (if ever! I’m looking at you, George R. R. Martin!) the next book will be published …

Now, approximately one year later, I’ve read tons of stories, and Goodreads has become my second home. I’ve found out that reviewing books is not only immensely satisfying – as a reader on a neverending quest for amazing stories, it’s also incredibly helpful when people take time to write thorough reviews.

So, this blog is sort of the natural extension of my love for books and an attempt to help others find all the wonderful stories, I’ve enjoyed myself. I’ll be reviewing some movies from time to time, too, but literature is my main focus.

I hope you’ll find it helpful, and please feel free to send me an invite on Goodreads, too: https://www.goodreads.com/amthiel

Leave a Reply

